UTAR students win MOSTI award

A Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman (UTAR) three-student team beat 71 other teams and emerged as champion, an achievement that saw the team win the Science, Technology and Innovation Ministry's (MOSTI) Innovate Malaysia Award at the Innovate Malaysia Design Competition held in Penang on 11 June 2011.

The team comprising final-year Electrical and Electronic Engineering students Gan Yu Han, Vincent Chiah and Gan Guo Dong also won the first prize in the Intel category; their winning design was an electric vehicle intelligent control system using the Intel Atom processor-based desktop board platform.

Another UTAR team comprising Mechatronics students Cheng Chia Loon and Chia Kok Siang won the first prize in the Agilent category with their advanced underwater mechatronics manipulator. Electrical and Electronic Engineering student Wong Chi Liang with his implementation of a soft core processor on a FPGA, and Tan See Hui, Chu En, and Jing Ming with their digital speed limit monitoring system reached the finals in Altera and Intel platforms respectively and received consolation prizes.

Last year, Yu Han was one of the trio in UTAR Eco-University team that won the second prize at the Schneider Electric University Challenge 2010, which was themed "Green My World @ My Campus".

Innovate Malaysia Design Competition, a multi-discipline engineering design competition open to all undergraduate engineering and computer science students in Malaysia, was aimed to promote innovation culture, better knowledge and skills and greater interest in engineering design, and closer industry-academia collaboration.

USA technology giants Agilent Technologies, Altera, and Intel, the leaders in electronic instruments, programmable logic, and microprocessor respectively, sponsored the competition. Contest participants were required to design based on the technology platforms of Agilent USB modular instruments, Altera DE1/DE2 board, and Intel Atom processor-based desktop board.

Deputy Science, Technology and Innovation Minister Datuk Fadillah Yusof, MDeC chief operating officer Ng Wan Peng and supervisor of the UTAR champion team Faculty of Engineering and Science Assistant Professor Dr Chew Kuew Wai were present at the prize-giving ceremony at Altera Corporation on Saturday.

The UTAR grand champion team holding their trophy
(from left: Chiah, Guo Dong and Yu Han) with Datuk Fadillah (left of Yu Han) and the organisers

Dr. Chew (holding the trophy) with members of the UTAR winning teams


Wholly owned by UTAR Education Foundation Co. No. 578227-M        LEGAL STATEMENT   TERM OF USAGE   PRIVACY NOTICE