UTAR Staff Receives Young Members of the Year Award 2011

Associate Professor Dr Rajkumar Durairaj, Deputy Dean (Student Development & Industrial Training) of Faculty of Engineering and Science (FES) of Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman (UTAR), received the Young Members of the Year Award from the Institution of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE, UK) on 15 September 2011 for his outstanding contribution to raising the profile of the IMechE.

The award is an international recognition by the IMechE, UK for volunteer members who have shown exemplary leadership quality.

Dr Rajkumar served as the Chairman of the Young Members Section from February 2009 until January 2011 and is currently a committee member of Institution of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE), Malaysia Branch.

During his tenure as the chairman of the Young Members Section, he saw the formation of a number of student chapters, which included the UTAR IMechE Student Chapter. He also initiated various efforts towards encouraging the involvement of young members in professional development activities.

Recognising the value of support from others to succeed, Dr Rajkumar said, " I am grateful to Prof Lee Sze Wei, Vice President (R&D and Commercialization), Dr Wang Chan Chin, Dean of FES, Professor Teoh Kok Soo, Chairman IMechE Malaysia Branch and my colleagues at the Mechanical and Material Engineering Department for their continuous support."

Last year, Dr Rajkumar was awarded the Wighton Titular Fellowship of the Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU) which afforded him the opportunity to work with one of the foremost researchers in the United Kingdom, Prof Samjid Mannan from the Department of Physics, King's College, UK from October to December.

Dr Rajkumar with an FEI Quanto FEG scanning electronic microscope at King's College


Wholly owned by UTAR Education Foundation Co. No. 578227-M        LEGAL STATEMENT   TERM OF USAGE   PRIVACY NOTICE