IEM UTAR crowned best student section

Teo (centre) receiving the award from YES Chairman Kok Jing Shun, as IEM President Ir Tan Yean Chin looks on

IEM UTAR Student Section 2015-2016 (IEM UTAR-SS) of the Lee Kong Chian Faculty of Engineering and Science (LKC FES) won the award of Outstanding IEM Student Section 2016 at the Institution of Engineers Malaysia-Young Engineers Section (IEM-YES) National Summit 2016 Closing Ceremony held at Hilton Kuching, Sarawak on 30 July 2016.

They were awarded based on their outstanding performances in organising activities that focused on the importance of engineering professions, such as the Engineering Fiesta and IEM visits.

IEM UTAR-SS’ Outstanding IEM Student Section 2016 trophy

“It was an honour for us to be awarded as the best student section for the third year in a row. Our deepest appreciation goes to UTAR for giving us a platform to learn and grow; thank you for believing in us,” said ex-Chairman of IEM UTAR-SS 2015-2016 Teo Hock Meng. He also thanked their advisor Ir Dr Khoo Hooi Ling, YES, and his committee members for their endless support.

IEM UTAR-SS committee receiving the ‘Best Society Award (Course Based)’ from UTAR Vice President for Internationalisation and Academic Development Prof Ir Dr Ewe Hong Tat

IEM UTAR-SS 2015-2016 committee members posing with Dr Khoo (front, third from left) and KLC FES Dean Prof Ir Dr Goi Bok Min (front, centre)

The summit acts as a platform for young engineers, graduates and IEM student sections from all higher-learning institutions to exchange ideas, experiences and achievements, while providing networking opportunities with professionals.

The IEM-YES National Submit 2016 was organised by YES’s Sarawak Branch in collaboration with IEM. It was held at Swinburne University of Technology Sarawak Campus from 28 to 31 July 2016.

Participants of IEM-YES National Submit 2016

Wholly owned by UTAR Education Foundation Co. No. 578227-M        LEGAL STATEMENT   TERM OF USAGE   PRIVACY NOTICE