UTAR Staff Long Service and Excellence Awards 2017

The VIPs and the Long Service Award recipients

The UTAR Staff Long Service and Excellence Awards 2017 was held at UTAR Kampar Campus for the first time on 13 May 2017.

An annual event to reward those who have served the university for a decade and to acknowledge the academics for their excellent teaching and research endeavours as well as the administrative staff for their service excellence, the ceremony was graced by UTAR Chancellor Tun Dr Ling Liong Sik. He was accompanied by his spouse Toh Puan Ena Ling, UTAR President Ir Prof Academician Dato’ Dr Chuah Hean Teik and UTAR Council Member Hew Fen Yee.

Also present were UTAR Planning and Development Committee Advisor Tan Sri Hew See Tong and spouse Puan Sri Woon Mun Fah, UTAR Vice Presidents Prof Ir Dr Lee Sze Wei and Prof Dr Choong Chee Keong, Registrar Yim Lin Heng, Division of Human Resource Director Wong Lee Lan, Dean of Faculty of Science Assoc Prof Dr Lim Tuck Meng, Dean of Faculty of Engineering and Green Technology Assoc Prof Dr Yap Vooi Voon, Head of Department of Student Affairs (Kampar Campus) Chiang Jeng Fong, Head of Department of Safety and Security (Sungai Long Campus) Zainudin Bin Mustaffa, and Head of Department of Alumni Relations and Placement Foo Wai Wai.

Citing UTAR’s success as a concerted effort, Prof Chuah commented that despite being a young 15-year-old university, UTAR still manages to produce over 48,000 graduates and have more than 26,000 students. “This year, we have also been ranked Top 120 by Times Higher Education (THE) in Asia University Rankings; Top  150 in THE Young University Rankings and 14th in the Young University: Millenial category. This is indeed a miracle made possible following the support from the general public, students, alumni and staff,” he continued, and reminded all to not rest on their laurels but work innovatively and diligently to stay ahead. Prof Chuah also extended his appreciation to the university’s Board of Trustees, Council, Vice Presidents, Deans, academic and administrative staff, and stakeholders for their support.

Prof Chuah thanking UTAR staff who gave contributions at all levels

Describing great employees as four-leaf clovers which are “difficult to find but lucky to have”, Tun Ling also congratulated the award recipients and thanked them for their passion and hard work invested since UTAR’s inception. “To the Excellence Award recipients, it’s heart-warming to note that you have embraced opportunities, overcome the challenges and attained positive results that have culminated in today’s award. To the Long Service Award recipients, like wine, we are more refined and smoother as time goes by. Hence, we must continue to adapt to changes and be better with each year that passes,” remarked Tun Ling.

Tun Ling encouraging the award recipients to work harder in the years ahead

The ceremony reached its highlight with Tun Ling, accompanied by Prof Chuah, presenting the awards to the recipients of the Long Service Award from both Kampar and Sungai Long campuses.

Long Service Award recipient Chiok Phaik Fern who joined UTAR on Valentine’s Day in 2005 said the date reminds her of the beauty of falling love with the organisation. “I like UTAR as it appreciates the talents and willing to go the extra mile to equip academic staff with the cutting-edge knowledge and skills to excel and advance in the higher education. To UTAR, I’m delighted to be part of your success story,” enthused the Faculty of Arts and Social Science lecturer.

The ceremony ensued with Prof Chuah, accompanied by Vice Presidents Prof Lee and Prof Choong, presenting the awards to winners of the Excellence Awards. Each winner walked away with a cash prize of RM1,000, a certificate of acknowledgement and a trophy. The list of the 2016 Excellence Awards winners is as follows:

UTAR Teaching Excellence Award(*in no particular order)

No.   Name   Faculty
1.     Dr Chew Choy Hoong     Faculty of Science
2.         Dr Yeap Kim Ho   Faculty of Engineering and Green Technology
3.   Dr Rehan Akbar          Faculty of Information and Communication Technology 
4.   Dr Cheah Phaik Kin   Faculty of Arts and Social Science
5.   Dr Mohammad Falahat Nejadmahani   Faculty of Accountancy and Management
6.   Dr Leong Pooi Pooi   Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences
7.   Dr Loo Joo Ling    Lee Kong Chian Faculty of Engineering and Science 
8.   Teoh Sok Yee    Faculty of Business and Finance
9.   Mok Tuck Hau    Institute of Chinese Studies 
10.   Tan Jue Jun    Faculty of Creative Industries 
11.   Kong Jee Kim   Centre for Foundation Studies (Sungai Long)
12.   Tsen Tzu Yee   Centre for Foundation Studies (Kampar)

Clockwise from top left: Dr Chew, Dr Yeap, Dr Cheah, Dr Leong, Teoh, Jue Jun, Tsen, Kong, Mok, Dr Loo, Dr Falahat and Dr Rehan

UTAR e-Learning Excellence Award

- Category of Science, Engineering and Technology

Winner: Dr Chen Kah Pin from Lee Kong Chian Faculty Engineering and Science

- Category of Social Science, Arts and Humanity

Winner: Kok Hui Meian from Faculty of Arts and Social Science

Dr Chen receiving the award from Prof Chuah

UTAR Research Excellence Award

Winner: Dr Yap Wun She from Lee Kong Chian Faculty Engineering and Science

Research title: The Study of Image Encryption Schemes against Various Advanced Cryptanalytic Methods

Dr Yap receiving the award from Prof Chuah

UTAR Service Excellence Award

Winner: Tan Xiao Zhen (Assistant Laboratory Manager) from Lee Kong Chian Faculty Engineering and Science

Xiao Zhen receiving the award from Prof Chuah

Click here to read the testimonials from the Excellence Awards winners.

Curtains were drawn on the UTAR Staff Long Service and Excellence Awards 2017 following a group photography session and luncheon.

Click here for more photos of the ceremony.

Read about previous Long Service and Excellence Awards ceremonies here:

  1. Recognition of service 
  2. Long Service and Excellence Awards 

The VIPs and the Excellence Awards recipients

Wholly owned by UTAR Education Foundation Co. No. 578227-M        LEGAL STATEMENT   TERM OF USAGE   PRIVACY NOTICE