Green-tech competition cultivates creativity

Front row, third from left: Ang with organising committee members, participants and judges

A total of seven groups from UTAR and Heriot-Watt University participated in the Eco-Wind Turbine Power Generation Competition which was held at UTAR Sungai Long Campus on 8 June 2019. Sponsoring the event were Institution of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE), Great Pumps Sendirian Berhad, Magic Moggy Café and Simple Life Cafe.

The competition was organised by the IMechE Student Chapter. It aimed to create an opportunity for the participants to have hands-on experience in designing, fabricating and testing the eco-friendly wind turbine prototype, which includes generating electrical energy from wind energy. The competition also served as a platform to promote and create awareness on Green Technology while encouraging participants to be more eco-friendly and creative in designing and fabricating a feasible wind turbine.

Prof Rajkumar delivering his speech

Lee Kong Chian Faculty of Engineering and Science (LKC FES) Head of Mechanical and Material Engineering Department Prof Ir Dr D. Rajkumar welcomed the participants and said, “I would like to applaud the organising committee for organising such event that cultivates the students’ creativity and raises the awareness of using eco-materials. I hope that this competition will be held annually with more participation from other universities so that more students can be exposed to hands-on experience and be prepared for their future career.”

The event was followed by a briefing session from Chairperson Ang Xi Ze to the participants on the rules and regulation of the competition. The participants were required to design, build and test their wind turbine through the measurement of output power and threshold distance before proceeding to the presentation of ideas. Judging the competition were LKC FES lecturers Dr Rubina Bahar, Dr Ooi Jong Boon and Assoc Prof Dr Liang Meng Suan.

Ang said, “Through this competition, we hope the participants will use the knowledge gained in the classroom to create projects that focus on green technology and that are eco-friendly. At the same time, we want to cultivate the students’ creativity and enable them to think out-of-the-box. Apart from that, we hope all participants will work as a team, gaining new knowledge as they do, to come up with the ingenious project.”

Prototypes being evaluated for output power and threshold distance

Team Win-Wind Turbine won the first prize and took away RM1,000 cash and RM50 voucher while Team GG walked away with RM500 cash and RM30 voucher for the second prize. Team Four Eatdeots won the third prize with RM300 cash and RM20 voucher. All participants received certificates.

Marietta from Team Win-Wind Turbine said, “It is important to agree on the same goal besides having good teamwork. We have put in a lot of effort and time into making this project and we did not give up when we faced obstacles. There was a lot of self-learning to do aside from being hardworking. Overall, we gained a lot of new knowledge. We would like to thank Dr Chua Kein Huat for being a great advisor to us.”

Dr Rubina said, “I’m really grateful to the organising committee for having this competition and thankful for those who have participated and making this event a success. This competition has certainly made an impact on green technology. I hope the experience gained today will allow you to progress even better in the future.”

The organising committee members were Ang Xi Ze, Lim Wan Lynn, Tiew Hong Heok, Mark Chyun Len, Chng Chung Shen, Jason Kung, Vincent Yong and Thian Qi Zhe.

Team MINI 007, from left: Chew Long Lit, Ong Jian Hui, Phua Cher Khey, Tan Sze Ying and Leong Mun Kin

Team Watt, from left: Amrit Singh Randhawa, Phubinder Singh Gill, Devansh Choksi and Yong Zhong Sun

Team GG, Ernest Hiew Sheng Chen with his project

Prof Rajkumar (third from left) presenting the prizes to Team Win-Wind Turbine. From left: Khaw Ji Wei, Thor Win Win, See Mian Jing, Marietta Mu Fui Mun and Ho Mun Ling

Team Dyson, from left: Chong Ai Nee, Ooi Tong Yeow, Henry Kuan Phang Sheng and Chang Chee Haur

Ling Wen Yi and Chua Kee Yean (right) from Team Four Eatdeots

Team Nasi Goreng Ayam, from right: Tiew Hong Heok, Buen Jie Wei, Loo Chun Kit, Koh Yann Yee and Chung Pu Onn

Ang (right) presenting the token of appreciation to (from left pic) Prof Rajkumar, Dr Rubina and Dr Ooi

Wholly owned by UTAR Education Foundation Co. No. 578227-M        LEGAL STATEMENT   TERM OF USAGE   PRIVACY NOTICE