Four UTAR students won awards at 2020 IEEE Malaysia FYP Competition

Three students from UTAR Lee Kong Chian Faculty of Engineering and Science (LKC FES) namely, Teh Junjie, Khor Jen Feng, Yee Yong Haw and one student from Faculty of Information and Communication Technology (FICT) Lian Yee Fu beamed with joy after winning awards at the 2020 IEEE Malaysia FYP Competition.  

The 2020 IEEE Malaysia Final Year Project (FYP) Competition was once again organised by IEEE Malaysia for the year 2020. There were 16 sponsored tracks altogether with a total of 250 submissions. The competition witnessed 41 winners for the year 2020 from both public and private universities. Each sponsored track was backed by a Malaysian IEEE technical chapter. The technical chapters facilitated the evaluation process and determined the winner for each track. Furthermore, they also sponsored the cash prize for the winners.

The winning list of the four UTAR students is as follows:

Track Name Rank Winners’ Name Faculty Supervisor FYP Title
Track 8: Recent Trends in Computational Intelligence  
Technical Partner: Computational Intelligence (CIS)
Merit Award Lian Yee Fu FICT Dr Ng Hui Fuang Video Surveillance using Deep Learning with Few Data Samples
Merit Award Teh Junjie LKC FES Chai Tong Yuen Household Waste Segregation Using Intelligent Vision System
Track 11: Technology and Engineering Management  

Technical Partner: Technology & Engineering Management (TEMS)
Winner Khor Jen Feng LKC FES Dr Ling Lloyd Oil Palm Yield Loss Modelling due to El Niño in Malaysia
Merit Award Yee Yong Haw LKC FES Ir Dr Liang Meng Suan Occupational Safety and Health Management in Logistics Industry

Khor, the winner for Track 11: Technology and Engineering Management, walked away with RM400 and a certificate of achievement, while for Lian and Teh for Track 8: Recent Trends in Computational Intelligence and Yee for Track 11 took away merit award certificate. Besides, certificate of participation from IEEE Malaysia was also given to all participants.

2020 IEEE Malaysia FYP Competition is open to all undergraduate students in any Malaysian Institution of Higher Learning (government and private) who are currently undertaking their Final Year Project or have just completed their Final Year Project in 2020. Participants need to submit two items, first, a three minutes video summarising their Final Year Project and second, a one page abstract in soft copy by explaining their Final Year Project.

The annual competition saw the participation of both public and private universities. The universities include UTAR, Universiti Malaya, Universiti Malaysia Perlis, Universiti Teknologi Petronas, Universiti Sains Malaysia, Universiti Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia, Universiti Teknologi Malaysia, Heriot-Watt University Malaysia, Universiti Putra Malaysia, Asia Pacific University of Technology and Innovation, Universiti Teknologi MARA, University College of Technology Sarawak, Universiti Malaysia Pahang, Monash University Malaysia, UCSI University, Universiti Malaysia Sarawak, Curtin University Malaysia, The University of Nottingham Malaysia Campus,  First City University College, Tunku Abdul Rahman University College, Universiti Teknikal Malaysia Melaka and Universiti Malaysia Sabah.

Click here to read Khor's abstract
Click here to watch Khor's video

Click here to read Lian's abstract
Click here to watch Lian's video

Click here to read Teh's abstract
Click here to watch Teh's video

Click here to read Yee's abstract
Click here to watch Yee's video

LKC FES and FICT appreciates all those who have contributed to this competition, congratulates all winners, and looks forward to the next competition in 2021.

Wholly owned by UTAR Education Foundation Co. No. 578227-M        LEGAL STATEMENT   TERM OF USAGE   PRIVACY NOTICE