LKC FES academics elected as ASM Fellow 2022

UTAR Lee Kong Chian Faculty of Engineering and Science (LKC FES) academics Ir Prof Dr Lim Yun Seng and Prof Ts Dr Lim Eng Hock were elected as the ASM Fellow 2022 for Engineering Sciences Discipline at the Academy of Sciences Malaysia 2022.

Ir Prof Dr Lim Yun Seng (far right) receiving his award from the Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation (MOSTI) Dato’ Sri Dr Adham Baba, while President of ASM Professor Emerita Datuk Dr Asma Ismail looks on

Ir Prof Dr Lim Yun Seng with his award

Ir Prof Dr Lim Yun Seng has demonstrated an outstanding contribution to the nation through innovative engineering technologies to solve power quality, resource efficiency and affordability with preventive pollution measures. His research contribution in power system engineering, particularly in integrating renewable energy (RE) sources with the power system networks, has brought measurably significant economic and social impacts to the advancement of engineering science.

He has successfully developed the first utility-scale, the self-intelligent energy storage system (ESS) of 400kVA and 677kWh on the power grid in Malaysia using patented controllers to reduce maximum power demands for customers and utilities. The novel system enables utilities like TNB to avoid adding new power plants and upgrading power networks, thus, reducing greenhouse emissions and bringing down the electricity price. The system also reduces commercial end-user electricity bills by reducing maximum demand charges.

Prof Dr Lim Eng Hock (second from right) receiving his award from the Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation (MOSTI) Dato’ Sri Dr Adham Baba, while President of ASM Professor Emerita Datuk Dr Asma Ismail (second from left) looks on

Prof Ts Dr Lim Eng Hock with his award 

Meanwhile, Prof Ts Dr Lim Eng Hock is known for his expertise in Communication Engineering; Antenna Design and RFID Antenna Design. He is a pioneer in the multi-functional dielectric resonator antennas (DRA) research field. The DRA is a low-loss antenna broadly used by the 5G millimetre-wave wireless transmitters and receivers. His most important contribution is that he was the first to propose using the DRA as a multi-functional device. His innovation has enabled the use of a single resonator for designing multiple microwave components such as an amplifier, filter and oscillator simultaneously. This innovation has been considered one of the important achievements in developing the DRA.

He has also been an active member of the departmental curriculum development committee since 2014. He developed the syllabi for a couple of antenna design and radiofrequency engineering subjects. He has also developed several online teaching and learning materials for complex subjects, such as electromagnetism for students’ self-learning in terms of contribution to society, he has volunteered as the moderator of the UEC Vocational Examination for subjects such as circuit theory and electronic engineering in 2018 and 2019.

The ASM fellowship consists of distinguished scientists, engineers, technologists, and social scientists who have made exceptional contributions in their fields. A fellowship of the Academy of Sciences Malaysia is the highest recognition of the best scientific minds from the Government of Malaysia.

Prior to this, UTAR President Ir Prof Dato’ Dr Ewe Hong Tat, UTAR Vice President for Internationalisation and Academic Development Ir Prof Dr Goi Bok Min, UTAR Vice President for R&D and Commercialisation Prof Ts Dr Faidz bin Abd Rahman, UTAR Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences (FMHS) Dean Academician Emeritus Prof Dr Cheong Soon Keng, FMHS Academics Prof Dr Ngeow Yun Fong, Emeritus Prof Dr Boo Nem Yun @ Mooi Nam Ying, and Prof Dr Yap Sook Fan, LKC FES Academics Prof Dr Chong Kok Keong, and Ir Prof Dato’ Dr Goh Sing Yau were also elected as ASM Fellow. UTAR Hospital Board Chairman and UTAR Council Member Ir Academician Emeritus Professor Tan Sri Dato’ Dr Chuah Hean Teik and Prof Cheong were elected as ASM Senior Fellow.

Wholly owned by UTAR Education Foundation (200201010564(578227-M))         LEGAL STATEMENT   TERM OF USAGE   PRIVACY NOTICE