MoA with ASM

A Memorandum of Agreement (MoA) was signed on 16 November 2013 between UTAR and the Actuarial Society of Malaysia (ASM) at Petaling Jaya campus. Signing the MoA were UTAR President Ir Prof Academician Dato Dr Chuah Hean Heik and ASM President Mr Yap Chee Keong. Witnessing the signing from UTAR were Council Chairman Tun Dr Ling Liong Sik, Council member Datuk Leong Tang Chong, Education Foundation Secretary Ong Whee Tiong, Vice President (Internationalisation and Academic Development) Prof Dr Ewe Hong Tat, Faculty of Science and Engineering Dean Prof Ir Dr Yow Ho Kwang, Head  of Department of Mathematics & Actuarial Sciences Dr Goh Yong Kheng and Director of Division of Community and International Networking Dr Tan Sin Leng. Guests from ASM were Vice President Wan Saifulrizal Wan Ismail, Secretary Lim Weng Soon, Communication Executive Jack Soh Wai Sun and Education Committee member Vas Ramanujam. Also present at the signing ceremony were lecturers, tutors, students and staff.

In his address at the signing ceremony, Prof Chuah said, "With the signing of the MOA, a dedicated ASM Secretariat office will be established at the UTAR Faculty of Engineering and Science, Kuala Lumpur campus. The setting up of the ASM Secretariat at UTAR would benefit the undergraduates as they would have the opportunity to work hand in hand with ASM much closer than before." He elaborated that students would also be able to know the latest ASM talks, internship opportunities, job vacancies and actuarial professional developments and benefit from the advice and support of ASM's experts and specialists on understanding the role and importance of the actuary profession.

Commenting that the MOA signing is a milestone achievement, Yap said, "The office will become fully operational on 1st December 2013. With the set-up of the office, ASM will be able to provide better services to its members and be equipped to organise more professional seminars and social activities."


Yap added that  ASM has had a very good relationship with the Actuarial Science Department of UTAR and many ASM members have participated in the events organised by the Department for example as judges in the UTAR's Actuary Today Competition.  

Seated from left: Wan Saifulrizal, Yap, Tun Ling, Prof Chuah and Datuk Leong.
Standing from left:  Soh, Ramanujam, Lim, Prof Ewe, Prof Yow, Dr Goh and Dr Tan

Yap presenting a souvenir to Prof Chuah while Tun Ling looks on. 

Wholly owned by UTAR Education Foundation (200201010564(578227-M))        LEGAL STATEMENT   TERM OF USAGE   PRIVACY NOTICE