SES Intra-University Competition 2019

All the VIPs, judges, organising committees and participants

Structural Earthquake Stability (SES) Intra-University Competition 2019 was held at Sungai Long Campus on 16 February 2019. It was jointly organised by Student Chapter of The Institution of Engineers, Malaysia (IEM) and Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE) in collaboration with the Department of Civil Engineering from Lee Kong Chian Faculty of Engineering and Science (LKC FES).

The competition was sponsored by Sunway Construction Group Bhd. It aimed to promote the practical experience of earthquake engineering through small-scale structural models to the students as well as enhance their engineering knowledge, management skill, creativity and innovative skills.

From left: Dr Ling, Dr Lim Jee Hock, Prof Goi, David Ho and Lim Xin Chern launching the opening ceremony

Present at the opening ceremony were LKC FES Dean Prof Ir Dr Goi Bok Min, representative of Sunway Construction David Ho Song Wei, Student Development and Industrial Training Deputy Dean Ir Dr Lim Jee Hock, Department of Civil Engineering Head Dr Ling Lloyd, Event Advisors Dr Lee Foo Wei and Dr Yip Chun Chieh, Organising Chairperson Lim Xin Chern, UTAR staff and students.

Prof Goi (left) and David Ho delivering their speech

In his opening remarks, Prof Goi thanked the Sunway Construction Group Bhd for their trust and support in making the event a success. He also expressed his appreciation to the participants and said, “I am proud to see our students showing a great attendance today. I was informed that there were more than 150 of our civil engineering students involved in this competition. I hope that, through the competition, all of you could test your limit and come out with the best design to win the competition.” Moreover, he explained that the winner of the competition would represent UTAR for the Inter-University Competition and he hoped that the best team from the competition would carry the University flag high. He also said, “Although Malaysia is earthquake-free, we still have to make sure our engineers, especially civil engineers, are equipped with this important skill to face the future.”

On the other hand, David Ho shared the current development of Sunway Construction Group Bhd in his speech and expressed his pleasure on behalf of the company for its continued support of the competition for the fifth consecutive year. He explained that there had been a grave challenge for the industry last year, but the company knows what to do. “One of the things is to support the future engineers like you to make sure the availability of potential engineers to join the company,” he said. He also added, “The competition is not about winning or losing. It is more about how you show your passion and ambition to achieve something beyond your academic achievement. Most importantly, you know that you give your very best from the beginning and you have lessons to take from the competition.”

Lim Xin Chern thanking the support of the committee members, faculty

Sharing the study findings of the University of Cambridge, Lim Xin Chern said that 75 percent of fatalities that happen during the earthquake were caused by the collapse of building structures. He further explained that most of the deaths could be prevented and he highlighted the importance of civil engineering to avoid the structural damage and death resulting from the natural disaster. According to him, the competition also played an important role to increase the awareness of the public about civil engineering and earthquake. “We, as the organiser, treat this event today as an educational event more than just a competition,” he said.

In the competition, the participants were required to build their own model within a given timeframe by utilising the materials provided, in compliance with the assigned theme and feature. The constructed structures were then loaded and tested on an earthquake stimulation shaking table and evaluated by the judges based on its earthquake sustainability and material efficiency. The judges for the competition were Dr Lim Jee Hock, Ir Woon Yoke Bee and Ir Dr Kwong Kok Zee.

Participants listening attentively during the briefing session         

 Participants constructing their respective models

During the assessment

The complete model ready for judging

The winners were listed as below:


Name of the team

Team members


Beam Civil

Cheng Lei Nien, Tan Zi Cong, Muhammad Iqbal Budiawan, Chang Soon Meng & Chai Yong Jie

1st runner-up


Tizzy 1

Bryan Yap Seng Haw, Chai Voon Hao, Chuah Pei Lim, Yee Jun Feng & Lim Jia Chun

2nd runner-up


Not Fast but Furious

Tan Joo Ping, Koet Wooi Guan, Lim Minh Kuok & Audrey Ng Yun Yi

Consolation 1


American Pie

Yap Yeong Lin, Joshua Tan, Ngu Jun Jie, Chai Khem Fei & Jonathan Chong

Consolation 2



Marieta Mu Fui Mun, Ho Mun Ling, Ooi Tong Yeow, Chang Chee Haur & Henry Kuan Phang Sheng

The winning teams at the competition

The committee members after the event

Wholly owned by UTAR Education Foundation Co. No. 578227-M        LEGAL STATEMENT   TERM OF USAGE   PRIVACY NOTICE