Prof Dr Chong Kok Keong elected as ASM Fellow 2019

Prof Chong

Prof Dr Chong Kok Keong from UTAR Lee Kong Chian Faculty of Engineering and Science was elected as the ASM Fellow 2019 by the Academy of Sciences Malaysia (ASM). Held at the 2019 Conferment of Fellowship of the Academy of Sciences Malaysia, the event took place on 13 December 2019.

In attendance to present the honours was Deputy Minister of Energy, Science, Technology, Environment and Climate Change (MESTECC) YB Isnaraissah Munirah Majilis. Prof Chong was conferred the title of ASM Fellow, in recognition of his contribution to the field of concentrating solar power and dense-array concentrator photovoltaic system.

“This honour shows the collective efforts of my research team and the administrative support received from UTAR’s top management. I would like to dedicate this success to my research team, namely Dr Jessie Siaw Fei Lu, Dr Wong Chee Woon, Dr Yew Tiong Keat, Dr Tan Ming Hui and Dr Tan Woei Chong. For the nomination and various administrative support, I would also like to express my gratitude and appreciation to Ir Academician Emeritus Prof Tan Sri Dato’ Dr Chuah Hean Teik (my first nominator), Ir Prof Dr Ewe Hong Tat (my second nominator), Prof Dr Faidz bin Abd Rahman, Ir Prof Dr Goi Bok Min, Assoc Prof Dr Yong Thian Khok, Assoc Prof Ts Dr Yap Wun She and other supporting staff,” said Prof Chong.

Prof Chong is a pioneer in connecting the non-imaging optics with solar energy materials. He has strong representation by making significant world scientific impact in the field of concentrating solar power and dense-array concentrator photovoltaic system, which is a unique expertise in our country. As a scholar, he has performed exceptionally well in academic publications. He also has a special talent in the practical implementation of solar power technologies to benefit mankind via efficient and cost-effective inventions. Under his leadership, his team has produced various creative and innovative research outputs including cost-effective sun-tracking mechanisms, optical geometries capable of harnessing concentrated sunlight, novel solar cell materials and new computational method for concentrating solar power system.

ASM honours the contribution of Malaysian research scientists to the nation’s economic growth via generation and dissemination of knowledge, wealth and productive pursuit of scientific excellence for the benefit of humanity. Hence, the election of new Fellows is crucial to ensure the sustainability of ASM. ASM taps the expertise, knowledge, wisdom and network of its Fellows to provide Science, Technology and Innovation (STI) inputs to the government and stakeholders.

Only 50 individuals are appointed from among the country’s eminent scientists, engineers and technologists as Foundation Fellows. Their expertise is harnessed for policy inputs, tapping of international support and collaborations, enriching excellence and engagement activities of ASM.

Prof Chong (back row, second from right) with YB Isnaraissah Munirah (front row, fourth from right) and other ASM Fellows

From left: Prof Chong with UTAR President Prof Ewe

Wholly owned by UTAR Education Foundation Co. No. 578227-M        LEGAL STATEMENT   TERM OF USAGE   PRIVACY NOTICE