Forging closer ties with TCU through MoU

UTAR and Tianjin Chengjian University (TCU), China, signed a memorandum of understanding (MoU) via Zoom on 3 December 2021 to forge long-lasting ties with one another.

The signatories for the MoU were UTAR President Ir Prof Dr Ewe Hong Tat and TCU President Prof Li Zhongxian.

Prof Ewe

In his remarks, Prof Ewe enthused, “UTAR and TCU are like old friends.  We signed an MoU in 2016 and renewed the MoU in November 2019. We had organised various forms of academic activities. In 2017, UTAR students visited TCU under a study tour programme to gain cultural experience. In return, TCU students also visited UTAR in November 2017. In November 2018, 10 students and two lecturers from TCU came to UTAR to participate in our ‘Malaysian Culture & Architectural Heritage Study Tour’ organised by our Department of Student Affairs, Lee Kong Chian Faculty of Engineering and Science (LKC FES) Department of Architecture & Sustainable Design and Centre of Sustainable Architecture. Since then, we have been maintaining a strong partnership.”

He added, “I have always encouraged our lecturers and students to participate in international exchange activities because this will help them to broaden their international horizons and promote self-growth. Through educational cooperation, students can benefit from the multicultural and multi-context environment in addition to their academic knowledge in the classroom, enriching their own life experience.”

Prof Li

Prof Li, on the other hand, agreed with Prof Ewe and said, “I am very pleased that both parties have achieved outstanding results in promoting cultural and academic exchanges with each other. This has played an important role in promoting the career development of the two universities, especially in talent development. TCU attaches great importance to international exchanges and cooperation and we have three important milestones achieved in the past five years. The first milestone is the International School of Engineering (ISE) which was jointly established by TCU with Bialystok University of Technology and Cracow University of Technology of Poland. It is the first Sino-foreign cooperative educational institution between China and Poland. It offers undergraduate and master cooperative programmes in architecture, landscape architecture, civil engineering and environmental engineering. The second milestone is the undergraduate programme in engineering management which was jointly organised with VIA University in Denmark. It is the first Sino-foreign cooperative programme of TCU. Last but not least, a joint cooperation with two other universities in Tianjin to establish our first overseas educational project- Punjab Tianjin University of Technology at Pakistan.”

He added, “UTAR is our important partner in Malaysia and we attach great importance to this cooperation with UTAR. I believe that today’s MoU signing ceremony is an important milestone for us. I sincerely hope that the collaboration between UTAR and TCU can further strengthen cooperation between both parties to achieve positive results in the near future.”

Both Prof Ewe and Prof Li exchanged invitations for mutual visits.

Through this MoU, both parties would exchange their expertise in scientific research and specialists training, including mutual cooperation in academic faculty and non-academic staff exchange, initiating an invitation for visiting persons/groups, organising mutual activities for promoting the partner university in the country of own incorporation (including recruitment events) and collaborating in language and cultural exchange activities. Aside from that, the MoU also aimed to have mutual cooperation in student exchange for study and cultural experiences as well as the exchange of study programmes and curriculum development cooperation.

Also present at the virtual ceremony were TCU International Cooperation Office Interim Director Assoc Prof Dr Wang Li, School of Architecture Dean Prof Dr Wang Jianghua, International Cooperation Office Section Chiefs Deng Linzi and Gao Jie, International Affairs of School of Architecture Coordinator Wang Da, UTAR LKC FES Dean Ir Prof Dr Goi Bok Min, Deputy Dean for Student Development and Industrial Training Assoc Prof Ts Dr Lee Kim Yee, Head of Department of Architecture and Sustainable Design Ts Tan Kok Hong, Lecturer Ts Wong Yee Choong, Faculty of Engineering and Green Technology Deputy Dean for Academic Development and Undergraduate Programmes Assoc Prof Ir Dr Ng Choon Aun, Division of Community and International Networking Director Assoc Prof Dr Lai Soon Onn, Deputy Director Dr Chen, I-Chi, Senior Assistant Managers Ong Yoon Furn, Chin Sau Lai and Liu Dan and Assistant Manager Wang Yiling.

Prof Li (left) and Prof Ewe

A group photo to mark the end of the virtual signing ceremony

Wholly owned by UTAR Education Foundation (200201010564(578227-M))        LEGAL STATEMENT   TERM OF USAGE   PRIVACY NOTICE