FEGT and LKC FES IAP Meeting at Sungai Long Campus

Group photo of LKC FES and FEGT academics with the IAP members

An Industry Advisory Panel (IAP) Meeting was jointly organised by UTAR Lee Kong Chian Faculty of Engineering and Science (LKC FES) and Faculty of Engineering and Green Technology (FEGT) at UTAR Sungai Long Campus on 26 October 2023.

This is the first physical IAP Meeting at Sungai Long Campus since the conclusion of the Movement Control Order (MCO) in 2021. The bi-annual meeting alternates between both Kampar and Sungai Long Campuses, with the previous meeting held on 31 May 2023 at Kampar Campus.

Focusing on STEM education, the IAP Meeting served as a platform for cross-departmental discussions, which facilitated synergy and dialogue between UTAR academics and the invited industry experts. Through the sharing of the latest industrial trends by the industry experts, the meeting also aimed to address critical issues such as strategies for enhancing students’ learning experiences; addressing the decline of STEM enrolment, and keeping abreast of emerging industry trends.

Chairing the meeting were LKC FES Dean Assoc Prof Ts Dr Yap Wun She and FEGT Dean Ir Prof Dr Ng Choon Aun, along with other LKC FES and FEGT deputy deans, heads of departments and academics.

Dr Yap (left) and Prof Ng giving an overview of LKC FES and FEGT respectively

By exchanging ideas with industry experts, UTAR is able to strive for sustained excellence by shaping curriculum development, enhancing education quality and enriching teaching methods with industry insights and real-world examples. Not to mention, UTAR ensures the competitiveness and innovation of its STEM programmes, which not only prepares graduates for modern workforce challenges, but also enables UTAR’s sustainability of competitive edge in a rapidly evolving technological landscape.

The IAP members who attended the meeting were Cenergi SEA Berhad Chief Business Development Officer Ir Kwok Yew Hoe, Ciena Communications (Malaysia) Sdn Bhd Sales Director Lim Kok Chen, Delloyd Ventures Sdn Bhd Director Dato’ Ir Haji Noor Azmi bin Jaafar, De Marq Training and Development Director Ir Ts Cheng Yew Leong, Universal Corrosion Engineering (M) Sdn Bhd Director Hew Yoon Onn, Aries Engineering Consultants Sdn Bhd Managing Director Ir Ts Chong Chee Yen, Sepakat Setia Perunding Sdn Bhd Engineering Director Ir Kuah Kee Hong, IPM Professional Services Sdn Bhd Founder and Managing Director Ir Dr Justin Lai Woon Fatt, Biomedix Solutions Sdn Bhd General Manager Ir Ts Lau Yew Nen, GoAutomate Sdn Bhd Managing Director Tan Wei Qiang, ViTrox Technologies Sdn Bhd Senior Software Research and Development Manager Wong Shin Jie, WW Quantity Surveying Consultancy Principal Sr Neoh Wen Wan, Fusionex Head of Research and Development Product Development Gan Chun Yee, UST Global (Malaysia) Sdn Bhd Programme Manager Low Pit Fuh, Vitrox Corporation Berhad Specialist Engineer Dr Tan Chun Aun, BYG Architecture Sdn Bhd Director Ar TPr Reg Conservator Michael Ong Chin Keong, Sun Life Malaysia Assurance Berhad Head of Strategic Analytics Lim Jue Yao, Singular Asset Management Sdn Bhd Managing Director Teoh Kok Lin, CACEIS Malaysia Sdn Bhd Private Equity and Real Estate Solutions Associate Director Sim Ken Yang, CIMB Bank Berhad Head of Regional Risk Validation Phoon Hoi Fen, Dynast Consult Sdn Bhd Director Ir Lee Yun Phing, Duriane Professionals Sdn Bhd Director Ir Mah Way Sheng, TNB Research Sdn Bhd Head of Research Unit Ir Dr Ng Guat Peng, MCM Group Adjunct Prof Max Shangkar, DBS Bank Singapore Risk Management Group Regulatory Portfolio Analytics Vice President Gabriel Ryan Adaikalam, Sapura Energy Berhad Head of Engineered and Bespoke Parts Johnny Ong Shou Yee, Archicentre Sdn Bhd Founder Director Ar Dr Tan Loke Mun, PIKOM, The National Tech Association of Malaysia CEO Ong Kian Yew, Camfil Malaysia Sdn Bhd Operations Manager Ts Siri Logeswaren Velliasamy, Daikin Research and Development (M) Sdn Bhd Deputy General Manager Dr Chin Wai Meng, MIMOS Berhad Senior Principal Researcher Ts Dr Hon Hock Woon, Intel Microelectronics (M) Sdn Bhd Design Engineering Operation Manager Dr Teh Eong Yap, and National Authority of Chemical Weapons Convention Principal Assistant Secretary Ir Ts Mohd Norhisyam Omar.

Wholly owned by UTAR Education Foundation (200201010564(578227-M))         LEGAL STATEMENT   TERM OF USAGE   PRIVACY NOTICE