UTAR and Masteel forge closer ties through MoU

From left: Dr Yap, Prof Dato’ Ewe, Shirley Ng and Smith Yong with the signed MoU

Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman (UTAR) and Malaysia Steel Works (KL) Bhd (Masteel) signed a memorandum of understanding (MoU) on 7 November 2023 at Sungai Long Campus. Signing the MoU were UTAR President Ir Prof Dato’ Dr Ewe Hong Tat and Malaysia Steel Works (KL) Bhd Executive Director Ms Shirley Ng, while witnessing the signing ceremony were UTAR Lee Kong Chian Faculty of Engineering and Science (LKC FES) Dean Assoc Prof Ts Dr Yap Wun She and Malaysia Steel Works (KL) Bhd Group HR Manager Mr Smith Yong.

Under the MoU, UTAR and Masteel will work together to facilitate the exchange of ideas and concepts, lay the groundwork for mutual visits to enhance curriculum development, build and foster long-term collaboration in promoting student internship and offer employment opportunities for UTAR graduates.

In his speech, Prof Dato’ Ewe said, “This marks the beginning of a collaborative journey that aims to merge the realms of academia and industry for a more enriching educational experience. I am delighted that we are joining hands in a collaborative spirit to foster an environment of shared learning, innovation and growth. Together, let us forge a path that enriches the academic experience and empowers our future professionals.”

Ms Shirley Ng said, “In line with the company’s transformation journey, Masteel is cognisant that talent acquisition and human capital development are the utmost important elements to ensure the sustainability of our business in the future. In tandem with this objective, Masteel aims to forge deeper cooperation and build synergy with UTAR. We strongly believe that this strategic industry-university collaboration with UTAR is a critical component of the innovation process, providing a myriad of benefits to both parties.”

Also present at the ceremony were Masteel Manager Trainee Mr Brian Tai and Group Assistant HR Manager Ms Tracy Tan. UTAR was represented by LKC FES academics, namely Head of Department of Mechanical and Material Engineering Assoc Prof Ts Dr Yeo Wei Hong, Head of Programme for PhD (Sc) and MSc programmes Ts Dr Khaw Chwin Chieh, Head of Programme for Master of Engineering (Mechanical) Ts Dr Lee Hwang Sheng, Ts Dr Wong Mee Chu and Dr V. Rubentheren.

From left: Dr Rubentheren, Dr Lee, Dr Khaw, Dr Yap, Prof Dato’ Ewe, Ms Shirley Ng, Mr Brian Tai, Ms Tracy Tan, Mr Smith Yong, Dr Yeo and Dr Wong

Prof Dato’ Ewe and Ms Shirley Ng (right) exchanging tokens of appreciation

Wholly owned by UTAR Education Foundation (200201010564(578227-M))         LEGAL STATEMENT   TERM OF USAGE   PRIVACY NOTICE