UTAR and Tsinghua University forge academic alliance through MoU signing

Prof Dato’ Ewe and Prof Wang displaying the signed MoU

UTAR and Tsinghua University (THU) solidified their partnership by signing a memorandum of understanding (MoU) at UTAR Sungai Long Campus on 19 September 2023. The distinguished signatories were UTAR President Ir Prof Dato’ Dr Ewe Hong Tat and THU President Prof Dr Wang Xiqin.

According to the MoU, both universities will collaborate on various fronts, including exploring international research projects, cultivating talents through joint programmes, exchanging academic staff for teaching and research initiatives, co-hosting academic seminars, talks and workshops, and facilitating student exchanges and internships in Malaysia and China.

Prof Dato’ Ewe said, “The close and ongoing exchange and cooperation between our two institutions have underscored the significance of formalising this MoU. I believe that through this MoU signing ceremony, both universities can further enhance faculty and student exchanges, organise a variety of academic events such as seminars, lectures, and workshops, and embark on collaborative research projects. These initiatives will not only benefit our faculty and students but also broaden students’ global perspectives, all while making a meaningful contribution to our societies and strengthening the bilateral relationship between our two nations.”


Prof Dato’ Ewe delivering a speech

Prof Wang highlighted THU’s notable international accomplishments in the realm of global engagement, including the establishment of research centres in various locations such as the United States, Latin America and Italy, a branch campus in Bali, Indonesia and the initiation of the Asian Universities Alliance (AUA). He expressed his hope that international cooperation would be a driving force for bilateral relations, including the relationship between China and Malaysia. Regarding the collaboration with UTAR, he stated, “I am particularly pleased today to see our university signing an MoU with UTAR. I hope that through in-depth exchanges and expanded cooperation, we can create more opportunities for the development of both institutions, staff and student exchanges, and collaborative research. This will infuse fresh vigour into the amicable ties between China and Malaysia and contribute positively to the rapidly evolving international environment. I have strong confidence that our collective efforts will pave the way for a brighter future.”

Prof Wong is confident that both universities can create a brighter future

Also joining the signing ceremony were several individuals representing both Tsinghua University (THU) and UTAR. From the Tsinghua University delegation, those in attendance included Tsinghua Alumni Association Secretary General Tang Jie, THU academic and NUCTECH Co. Ltd Chairman and President Prof Dr Chen Zhiqiang, THU academic and NUCTECH Co. Ltd Vice President Prof Dr Miao Qitian, THU Office of International Affairs Deputy Director Prof Dr Wang Hui, Office of International Affairs Senior Manager Zhang Yuan, NUCTECH General Manager of Asia and Eurasia Yang Bo, and NUCTECH General Manager of Malaysia Branch Ding Feipeng.

Representing UTAR were Vice President for Internationalisation and Academic Development Ir Prof Dr Goi Bok Min, Vice President for R&D and Commercialisation Prof Ts Dr Faidz bin Abd Rahman, Lee Kong Chian Faculty of Engineering and Science (LKC FES) Dean Assoc Prof Ts Dr Yap Wun She, Institute of Chinese Studies Dean Assoc Prof Dr Chong Siou Wei, Faculty of Creative Industries (FCI) Dean Dr David Tneh Cheng Eng, Faculty of Accountancy and Management (FAM) Dr Pok Wei Fong, Institute of Postgraduate Studies and Research (IPSR) Deputy Director Prof Ts Dr Lim Yang Mooi, LKC FES Deputy Dean for R&D and Postgraduate Programmes Assoc Prof Ir Dr Ling Lloyd, Division of Community and International Networking (DCInterNet) Director Assoc Prof Dr Lai Soon Onn, DCInterNet Senior Assistant Manager Liu Dan and Assistant Manager Wang Yiling.

Additionally, several staff from Kampas Campus joined the ceremony via Microsoft Teams. They were Faculty of Information and Communication Technology (FICT) Dean Assoc Prof Ts Dr Liew Soung Yue, Faculty of Arts and Social Science Dean Dr Lee Lai Meng, Faculty of Business and Finance (FBF) Deputy Dean for R&D and Postgraduate Programmes Assoc Prof Dr Choong Yuen Onn, Faculty of Science (FSc) Deputy Dean for R&D and Postgraduate Programmes Dr Phoon Lee Quen, Faculty of Engineering and Green Technology (FEGT) Deputy Dean for R&D and Postgraduate Programmes Dr Lo Po Kim and DCInterNet Deputy Director Dr Chen I-Chi.

From left: Prof Dato’ Ewe and Prof Wang signing MoU

Front row, from left: Prof Goi, Prof Chen, Tang, Prof Wang, Prof Dato’ Ewe, Prof Faidz, Dr Yap, Dr Pok. Second row, from left: Yang, Dr Ling Lloyd, Zhang, Prof Wang, Prof Miao, Dr Chong, Dr David Tneh, Prof Lim, Dr Lai, Wang and Liu

Wholly owned by UTAR Education Foundation (200201010564(578227-M))         LEGAL STATEMENT   TERM OF USAGE   PRIVACY NOTICE