UTAR seals partnership with Dong Zong

UTAR seals partnership with Dong Zong

An official partnership between UTAR and the United Chinese School Committees’ Association of Malaysia (Dong Zong) was formed via the signing of a memorandum of understanding (MoU) on 24 April 2024 at UTAR Kampar Campus.

The MoU aimed to promote potential collaborations on areas such as DPLI (Diploma Pendidikan Lepasan Ijazah) programmes for Chinese Independent High School teachers, soft skills enhancement programmes for students, STEM activities, massive open online courses (MOOCs), initiatives on furthering education for high school students and teachers, teacher training programmes, and development of new education programmes for Chinese Independent High Schools.

Signing the MoU were UTAR President Ir Prof Dato’ Dr Ewe Hong Tat and Dong Zong Chairman Mr Tan Tai Kim. It was witnessed by UTAR Institute of Chinese Studies (ICS) Dean Assoc Prof Dr Chong Siou Wei and Dong Zong Deputy Chairman Mr Tan Yew Sing.

Prof Dato’ Ewe (second from left) and Mr Tan Tai Kim exchanging MoU documents, witnessed by Dr Chong (far left) and Mr Tan Yew Sing

UTAR President Ir Prof Dato’ Dr Ewe Hong Tat said, “Though this is the first time UTAR has signed an MoU with Dong Zong, we have maintained close contact with each other, especially on collaborations related to Chinese Independent High Schools. As a University built from the public’s donation, we received various supports from organisations such as Dong Jiao Zong, and Dong Zong; and the Chinese communities over the years. With that, UTAR hopes to give back to the communities by cultivating talents in the long term.”

Prof Dato’ Ewe expressing gratitude for the long-term support provided by the Chinese communities

Dong Zong Chairman Mr Tan Tai Kim said, “For the past 70 years, Dong Zong has been working together with Chinese communities across Malaysia to uphold the development of Chinese education, allowing it to be passed on to the next generations. The signing of this MoU signified the deepening of relationships between Dong Zong, UTAR, and all the Chinese Independent High Schools. I believe the collaboration between both parties will be a success, which will produce educational resources and services of higher quality for Chinese education.”

Mr Tan Tai Kim emphasising the importance of Chinese education

The guests from Dong Zong who were also present at the MoU signing ceremony were Dong Zong Vice Chairmen Mr Lee Tiam Lim, Mr Low Kin Yak and Mr Ng Siau Men; Secretary General Ch’ng Chuwn Leong, Treasurer Yeong Oon San, Central Executive Member Mr Thow Hing Chuang, Central Committee Members Mr Seow Hon Cheong, Mr Tey Tong Ong, Mr Wong Seng Chin and Mr Ho Kwong Fook; General Affairs Division Deputy CEO Mr Choong Woei Chuan, Student Affairs Department Deputy CEO Mr Chen Ching Fong, Head of Student Affairs Department Mr Shim Boon Haw, Head of Organisation Affairs Department Mr Lim Kee Song, Organisation Affairs Department Executive Mr Chan Chee Choong, and staff.

Also present were UTAR representatives from Kampar Campus, namely Faculty of Science (FSc) Dean Assoc Prof Dr Lim Tuck Meng, Faculty of Business and Finance (FBF) Dean Assoc Prof Dr Au Yong Hui Nee, Faculty of Information and Communication Technology (FICT) Deputy Dean for Academic Development and Undergraduate Programmes Assoc Prof Ts Dr Cheng Wai Khuen, Faculty of Arts and Social Science (FAS) Deputy Dean for Student Development and Industrial Training Ms Kok Hui Meian, Faculty of Engineering and Green Technology (FEGT) Head of Department of Construction Management Dr Kwan Wai Hoe, Office of International Affairs (OIA) Director Assoc Prof Dr Lai Soon Onn, OIA Deputy Director Assoc Prof Dr Chen, I-Chi, Division of Programme Promotion (DPP) Deputy Director Mr Tan Choon Wah, Department of Alumni Relations and Placement (DARP) Head Ms Tan Cheng Wah, OIA Senior Assistant Manager Ms Chin Sau Lai, DPP Senior Assistant Manager Mr Chin Yuon Loong and UTAR staff.

UTAR representatives from Sungai Long Campus who attended the signing via Zoom included UTAR Vice President for Internationalisation and Academic Development Ir Prof Dr Goi Bok Min, Lee Kong Chian Faculty of Engineering and Science (LKC FES) Dean Prof Ts Dr Yap Wun She, Faculty of Accountancy and Management (FAM) Dean Dr Pok Wei Fong, Faculty of Creative Industries (FCI) Deputy Dean for Student Development and Industrial Training Ts Dr Ang Kok Yew, M. Kandiah Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences (MK FMHS) Centre for Research on Non-Communicable Diseases Chairperson Assoc Prof Ts Dr Lee Siew Keah, Institute of Postgraduate Studies and Research (IPSR) Deputy Director (Sungai Long Campus) Assoc Prof Ir Ts Dr Bernard Saw Lip Huat, Centre for Extension Education (CEE) Director Assoc Prof Ir Dr Lim Jee Hock, Centre for Curriculum Development and Innovation (CCDI) Head Dr Ngeow Yeok Meng, Department of Scholarships and Financial Aid (DSFA) Head Ms Tan Wear Sim, Centre for Corporate and Community Development (CCCD) Head of STEM Outreach Dr Ong Kiah Ju, Department of Soft Skills Competency (DSSC) of Sungai Long Campus Assistant Manager Mr Low Guok Xiang, DSSC Sungai Long Campus Administrative Assistant II Ms Chia Pik Yen Dennis and OIA Assistant Manager Ms Wang Yiling.

Seated, from left: Mr Ng, Mr Low, Mr Lee, Mr Tan Yew Sing, Mr Tan Tai Kim, Prof Dato’ Ewe, Dr Chong, Mr Ch’ng, Dr Lim, Dr Au Yong
Second row, from left: Mr Chin, Mr Tan Choon Wah, Mr Shim, Mr Chen, Dr Lai, Mr Seow, Mr Lim, Mr Ho, Mr Wong, Mr Tey, Dr Chen, Mr Thow, Dr Cheng, Mr Yeong, Ms Kok, Mr Choong and Dr Kwan

Exchange of tokens of appreciation between both parties

Tour around the Kampar Campus and UTAR Hospital after the MoU signing ceremony

Wholly owned by UTAR Education Foundation (200201010564(578227-M))         LEGAL STATEMENT   TERM OF USAGE   PRIVACY NOTICE