MoU and SEA signing between UTAR and SCUT

Prof Dato’ Ewe (left) and Prof Zhang

UTAR and the South China University of Technology (SCUT) signed a memorandum of understanding (MoU) and a Student Exchange Agreement (SEA) on 23 May 2024 at Sungai Long Campus.

The signatories of MoU and SEA were UTAR President Ir Prof Dato’ Dr Ewe Hong Tat and SCUT Chancellor Prof Dr Zhang Xichun. The witnesses were The Academy of Engineering and Technology for the Developing World (AETDEW) President Academician Dato’ Ir Dr Lee Yee Cheong.

The MoU between UTAR and SCUT aimed to initiate joint research projects and talent training, enhance academic exchanges including faculty visits, promote student mobility and internships, and develop degree and non-degree programmes. Additionally, it sought to establish joint supervision for master’s and doctoral programmes. The SEA anticipates to see two students from each university participate in the exchange every semester.

Prof Dato Ewe said, “The MoU and SEA signed today will create a broader platform for cooperation between our two universities. We look forward to this collaboration offering more learning opportunities and exchange platforms for students from both institutions, as well as fostering academic exchange and cooperation among our faculty members. Together, we aim to advance research and innovation, contribute our expertise to solving scientific and societal problems, and support the friendship between Malaysia and China.”

Prof Dato’ Ewe delivering his speech

Prof Zhang, on the other hand, explained the history and recent developments of SCUT, highlighting the achievements of the Guangzhou International Campus in the area of international education. Prof Zhang emphasised SCUT’s commitment to cultivating new-era engineering talents and collaborating with globally renowned universities to advance education internationalisation. He proposed that SCUT cooperate with UTAR on the Belt and Road project, enhance student exchanges, invite top professors to teach, expand international collaborations, and deepen China-Malaysia educational cooperation.

Prof Zhang introducing the history of SCUT

Also present at the signing ceremony were SCUT Assistant President Mr Lin Yiwen, SCUT School of Continuing Education Dean Mr Ye Weixiong, Pazhou Lab Executive Deputy Director Prof Dr Zhao Jiancang and SCUT Guangzhou International Campus Teaching Affairs Office Deputy Director Prof Dr Mao Aihua.

They were warmly welcomed by UTAR Vice President for Internationalisation and Academic Development Ir Prof Dr Goi Bok Min, Lee Kong Chian Faculty of Engineering and Science (LKC FES) Dean Prof Ts Dr Yap Wun She, Office of International of Affairs (OIA) Director Assoc Prof Dr Lai Soon Onn, Centre for Extension Education Director Assoc Prof Ir Dr Lim Jee Hock, Faculty of Information and Communication Technology (FICT) Dean Prof Ts Dr Liew Soung Yue (via online), LKC FES academic Dr Hau Lee Cheun and OIA Assistant Manager Ms Goo Yi Qun.

Prof Dato’ Ewe (left) and Prof Zhang signing the documents

Souvenir exchange session

Front row, from left: Prof Yap, Prof Goi, Prof Dato’ Ewe, Prof Zhang, Dato’ Lee and Mr Lin

Back row, from left: Dr Lai, Mr Ye, Prof Zhao, Prof Mau, Dr Lim and Dr Hau

Wholly owned by UTAR Education Foundation (200201010564(578227-M))         LEGAL STATEMENT   TERM OF USAGE   PRIVACY NOTICE