LKC FES students secure Grand Prize at Huawei ICT Competition 2023-2024 APAC-Malaysia

From left: Eddy Lai Thin Jun, Vice President of Huawei Asia-Pacific Strategy and Marketing Zhang Fupeng, Khor Yin Loon and Dr Tham

A team of three students from UTAR Lee Kong Chian Faculty of Engineering and Science emerged victorious at the Huawei ICT Competition 2023-2024 APAC – Malaysia, held on 18 December 2023, at DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur. The winning team consists of Bachelor of Electrical and Electronic Engineering with Honours student Khor Yin Loon, Bachelor of Mechatronics Engineering with Honours student Eddy Lai Thin Jun and Bachelor of Science (Honours) Software Engineering student Wong Tack Hwa. They were led by LKC FES academic Ir Ts Dr Tham Mau Luen.

The team excelled in the Cloud Track category, securing the Grand Prize. They earned four Huawei MateBook D16 laptops, along with four certificates and a prestigious trophy. Reflecting on their success, the team said, “Participating in this competition provided us with an opportunity to challenge ourselves and push our boundaries. It served as a platform that nurtured our growth in the fields of Cloud Computing, Big Data, and AI. Winning this competition is an incredible honour that reflects the hard work and dedication of our team. It’s a blend of joy, pride, and gratitude that propelled us to continue in this field. These recognitions are more than just awards; they symbolise the acknowledgement of our diligence in acquiring and applying this knowledge during the examination.”

The Huawei ICT Competition, a globally recognised event for college students, served as a platform for competitive ICT talent exchange. Developed by Huawei, the competition aimed to foster healthy development of the ICT talent ecosystem and facilitate the integration of industry and education. The Cloud Track, which focused on IT technologies such as Cloud, Big Data, and AI, involved a theoretical examination covering these specified fields.

Faculty of Information and Communication Technology (FICT) students Ng Shi Qi, Teo Teck Wan and Lim Xuan also won the National Second Prize under the Cloud Track category at the competition. Click here to read more.

The trophy

Wholly owned by UTAR Education Foundation (200201010564(578227-M))         LEGAL STATEMENT   TERM OF USAGE   PRIVACY NOTICE